A publication of the Centre for Advancing Journalism, University of Melbourne


Three Citizen journalists nominated for mid-year Walkley awards

Three members of The Citizen newsroom are nominated for Walkley awards at the upcoming mid-year awards ceremony in Sydney. 

Three Citizen journalists nominated for mid-year Walkley awards

Our editor, Jo Chandler, is nominated for the Freelance Journalist of the Year award for her reporting on Papua New Guinea for The Monthly and The New York Times.

Papua New Guinea Is Rich in Resources but Poor in Health, The New York Times, November 13 2018

Papua New Guinea’s resource curse, The Monthly, May 2018


Our cadet, Jack Banister, is nominated in the Longform category of the Young Journalist of the Year awards for his feature on Tiwi football and suicide, co-published with Guardian Australia.

More than a game in the Tiwi Islands, footy helps heal a hurting community, The Citizen, March 3 2019

In Tiwi, the word for football is yiloga. There is no word for suicideGuardian Australia, March 3 2019

You can read his other stories from his time with the Tiwi Bombers here.


Student reporter Ciaran O’Mahony is nominated for the Student Journalist of the Year award for his work on Guardian Australia‘s The Killing Times investigation.

The Killing Times series is available here.


Winners will be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration in Sydney on June 26. You can view the full list of nominees here.

About The Citizen

THE CITIZEN is a publication of the Centre for Advancing Journalism. It has several aims. Foremost, it is a teaching tool that showcases the work of the students in the University of Melbourne’s Master of Journalism and Master of International Journalism programs, giving them real-world experience in working for publication and to deadline. Find out more →

  • Editor: Jo Chandler
  • Reporter: Jordyn Beazley
  • Audio & Video editor: Louisa Lim
  • Data editor: Craig Butt
  • Editor-In-Chief: Andrew Dodd
  • Business editor: Lucy Smy
Winner — BEST PUBLICATION 2016 Ossie Awards